Vampire Tacos

IMG_0409
©bites by bridget

Are you sensing a theme here? Because I am.

Damn Bridge, back at it again with the Mexican food (yes, I’m still making damn Daniel jokes).

I’m not quite sure what it is about summer, but my deep love for guacamole and shredded cheese seems to intensify tenfold as the weather grows warmer — maybe it’s my subconscious telling me I need a tropical vacation. Cabo, anyone?

In all seriousness, however, I have yet another Cantina-themed recipe to share with you all, and I have to say, this might be my favorite one yet. BuzzFeed knocked it out of the park again with “Vampire Tacos,” a mouth-watering combination of flank steak and garlic-lime mayo that had me swearing up and down I’d never need to eat anything else again for the rest of my life. Until, that is, I stuffed my face with ice cream 20 minutes later.

The best part of this recipe is how simple it was; after whipping up the mayo sauce, making the guacamole, and grilling the steak, all that was left was the cheesy tortillas. Now, although the grilled cheddar tortillas sounded divine, I let my lazy side get the best of me and just threw them in the oven, laid out flat with a sprinkle of cheese on one side. I honestly don’t think it left anything to be desired, but if you want to follow the recipe to a tee, be my guest. I also made the executive decision to throw some radicchio in with the toppings and use Monterey Jack cheese instead of Cotija. Other than that, I let BuzzFeed work its usual magic.

Serve with a margarita, grilled corn, and salsa verde. Enjoy!

Original recipe can be found here

Ingredients:

1 pound flank steak or skirt steak

Marinade:
½ cup soy sauce
4 cloves garlic, sliced
¼ cup olive oil
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon oregano

1 package corn tortillas
3 cups shredded cheddar cheese

Sauce:
⅔ cup mayo
3 cloves garlic, finely minced
2-3 chipotle peppers, finely chopped
2 tablespoons lime juice
½ teaspoon salt

Toppings:
1 cup guacamole
1 cup pico de gallo or salsa verde
2/3 cup Monterey Jack cheese
1 cup cilantro leaves and shredded radicchio

 

Instructions:

1. Combine steak and all marinade ingredients in a large plastic storage bag or bowl. Toss to coat. Marinade at least 1 hour or up to 24.
2. Heat a grill, grill pan or large sauté pan to high heat. Cook steak to desired doneness (I recommend medium). Allow the meat to rest at least 10 minutes before thinly slicing against the grain.
3. To prepare the sauce, combine mayo, chipotles, lime juice and salt. Mix well.
4. Place corn tortillas on a cookie sheet and sprinkle with cheddar cheese. Cook at 350 in the oven until the cheese is melted and the tortillas are warm to the touch.
5. To assemble the tacos, top the corn tortillas with a spoonful of guacamole. Then, add a few slices of steak and some salsa, cheese, radicchio, and sauce. Garnish with cilantro if desired.

Bon Appetit!

Bridget

One thought on “Vampire Tacos

Leave a Reply

