Easy Greek Pita Sandwiches

Guess who’s back, back again…

I’m four weeks into school and I’m already having an existential quarter-life crisis. Communication Law textbooks litter my floor, my emergency Ben and Jerry’s is nigh scraped clean, and I’ve eaten far more mozzarella sticks than I’d care to admit.

Senior year, you win this round.

Besides my unscrupulous late night junk food binges, however, I have been making an effort to eat healthier. It’s not always easy on a college schedule — especially when you throw extracurriculars and weekly bar excursions into the mix — but this one recipe in  particular has been a big help.

I love Mediterranean food. I’m a born and bred Italian girl, raised on olive oil and savory cheese. And one of the easiest (and healthiest) ways to satisfy my cravings is with a good old fashioned pita. Feta cheese, lemon garlic chicken, and fresh, crisp vegetables make this sandwich near irresistible to me. The best part? You can make it under 20 minutes, and it always hits the spot. I always turn to this dish when I’m in a time crunch, and it hasn’t failed me yet.

Sign off in the comments below and let me know what you think!

Ingredients:

1 chicken breast, grilled and sliced into strips (I recommend Wegman’s lemon garlic marinade)

1 cucumber

1 bell pepper

1 container of crumbled feta cheese (add according to taste)

1 small tub of hummus

Olive oil, salt, and pepper to taste

1 pita pocket

Directions:

  1. Slice the pita in half and open it to form two pockets.
  2. De-seed the pepper and slice it up into thin strips. Cut the cucumber into thin slices, and then dice them into quarters.
  3. Coat the inside of each pita half with hummus. Add in vegetables, and sprinkle in feta according to taste.
  4. Add in sliced chicken, then drizzle the inside with olive oil, salt, and pepper.

Bon Appetit!

Bridget

pita
©bites by bridget
Leave a Reply

