Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cheesecake

And just in time for Halloween, I’m back from the dead!

Sorry for my obnoxiously long hiatus, guys. Between writing a ton of articles for class and trying to ignore the existential dread of my impending graduation, I’ve practically been a hermit. Hopefully this incredible cheesecake recipe will make up for it — it’s a crowd favorite I’ve been making for years. And besides, who can stay mad when cookie dough and chocolate are involved? Certainly not me, as my multiple empty containers of Tollhouse dough will tell you.

Layered with a chocolate wafer crumb crust and generous chunks of chocolate chip cookie dough, this cheesecake is everything. My roommate begs me to make it every year, and even though it’s a pretty arduous process, it’s well worth it for the irresistible combination of savory and sweet.We usually center an entire weekend around it, and when it’s finally ready, we celebrate with copious amounts of wine and obnoxious Netflix Rom-Coms. Nothing hits the spot like a chilled glass of Sauvignon Blanc and rich, creamy cheesecake, and that’s a belief I truly stand by.

Seriously, I may get that written on my headstone someday.

I follow this recipe pretty closely, but I do usually skip the sour cream topping. Sorry Daisy, I’m not putting a single dollop on top of my beautiful cake. But other than that, this AllRecipes concoction is a real winner. If you have a day to spare, I promise this satisfying cake is well worth it. Sound off in the comments below and let me know what you think!

Original recipe can be found here.

Ingredients:

Crust

Cake

Cookie Dough (store bought also works just fine)

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C)
  2. Mix the chocolate wafer cookie crumbs, 2 tablespoons white sugar, and melted butter together in a bowl. Press firmly into the bottom and up the sides of a 9 inch springform pan.
  3. Bake crust in the preheated oven for 8 minutes.
  4. Beat cream cheese and 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons white sugar together in a bowl until creamy. Add sour cream, eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract; beat until batter is smooth. Pour batter over crust into springform pan.
  5. Beat 1/4 cup butter, brown sugar, and 1/4 cup white sugar together in a bowl. Stir water and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract into brown sugar mixture. Add chocolate chips and flour; stir until cookie dough is well-combined. Drop cookie dough in 2 tablespoon portions evenly over the top of the cheesecake, pushing dough beneath the surface of the batter. Try to get all the dough completely covered.
  6. Bake in the preheated oven until cheesecake is almost completely set and jiggles slightly in center when shaken, about 40 minutes.
  7. Refrigerate for at least 8 hours (overnight is best).

Bon Appetit!

Bridget

img_0791
©bites by bridget

 

Leave a Reply

