Homemade Fried Zucchini Chips and Tzatziki Sauce

Like most degenerate 22-year-olds, I often find myself craving fried food. Fried mozzarella sticks, fried Oreos, you name it. If it’s crispy, golden, and dripping with saturated fat, I’ll gobble it down in 30 seconds flat. However, I also happen to have an incredibly finicky stomach that revolts without warning, so my fatty food escapades usually leave me curled in the fetal position, cursing the day I was born. In an attempt to be kinder to my body, I’ve been researching alternatives to satisfy my cravings — enter zucchini chips, my semi-healthy savior.

I love Greek food, so the excuse to combine my love of fried food and cuisine was a welcome opportunity. Though this process was a bit lengthy (I recommend a buddy system), these delicious chips were super easy to make and absolutely mouthwatering. Light, crispy, and surprisingly not greasy (make sure your oil stays at 350 F to achieve this), they’re a great alternative to fries if you’re looking for a more wholesome meal. And of course, what’s Greek food without Tzatziki Sauce? The cool flavors of the yogurt-based dip balance the savory bite of the chips, and together, they make the perfect summer snack. Give it a try and sound off in the comments below!

Fried Zucchini Chips (inspired by Spicy Southern Kitchen)

Ingredients:

  • 3 medium zucchini
  • 2 cups Panko crumbs
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup grated Romano cheese
  • salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tablespoons water
  • Vegetable oil

Directions:

  1. Heat about 1-2 inches of oil in a Dutch oven. Maintain a temperature of 350 degrees so the zucchini slices don’t soak up the oil.
  2. Place flour in a pie plate or shallow bowl.
  3. In a second pie plate or shallow bowl, combine Panko crumbs, Romano cheese, and 3/4 teaspoon salt.
  4. In a third bowl, crack the eggs and mix them with the water.
  5. Slice zucchini into circles, no thicker than 1/2 inch. Coat in flour, dip in egg mixture, and then coat in Panko crumbs. Fry in batches until golden brown on both sides, about 90 seconds per side.
  6. Drain on paper towels and season immediately with salt.
  7. Enjoy!

 

Tzatziki Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 2 8 oz. containers of plain greek yogurt
  • 2 tbs. extra virgin olive oil
  • 2 cucumbers — peeled, seeded, and diced
  • 1/2 lemon, juiced
  • 1 1/2 tbs. fresh chopped dill
  • 4 cloves of garlic, peeled and ends chopped off
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients in a food processor and blend until well-combined. Refrigerate before serving.

2. Enjoy!

Bon Appetit,

Bridget

IMG_3132
©bitesbybridget

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Homemade Fried Zucchini Chips and Tzatziki Sauce

  1. Dear Bridget: I have been making the zucchini chips ever since we moved to Vt. However, as I look at today’s blog I have been cutting the slices to thin. I will add the dip to my chips as it sounds delicious.
    Keep those recipes coming. I love them all.
    Your devoted fan,
    Barb McDonough

    Like

Leave a Reply

